Fashion & Beauty

MATTE LIQUID LIPSTICKS: THE PERFECT NUDES

Matte liquid lipsticks are a huge beauty trend right now and with so many brands bringing out their own take on them, I thought I’d do a blog post on four of my favourites (so far)!

Also keep in mind that I am in no way a make up expert (far from it) but these are just my genuine opinions on these products and how they work for me! 

1. Huda Beauty Matte Liquid Lipstick – Trendsetter (£18)

14194484_10206744092751934_834531648_n

I have been waiting for these to become available for a while now and I finally got my hands on one! I got it from Cult Beauty and unfortunately quite a lot of them were sold out but thankfully one of the ones I wanted was available (actually got an email this morning saying they have had a huge restock of all the colours in the range, check them out here). Trendsetter is the shade I got and I actually got the matching Lip Contour pencil (£16) as I have to line my lips before applying any kind of lipstick as it will just end up in carnage if I don’t… unsteady hand problems. The first time I wore it, I was at work for 12 hours and it really does live up to it’s ‘long lasting’ promise, trust me! Absolutely no transfer either… what more could you ask for.

2. Kylie Cosmetics Matte Liquid Lipstick – Exposed ($29)

14193693_10206744092671932_1313042756_n

I’m sure everyone is well aware of what Kylie Jenner has to offer with her range of cosmetics through her endless amounts of swatches all over her social platforms… Does it live up to the hype?! I personally love this shade which is called Exposed (it’s also Kylie’s favourite supposedly, not like that matters…), it’s the perfect everyday nude and as you can see with how short the pencil is getting, I definitely wear it everyday. However, they are not the easiest to get your hands on and you can be faced with an unwanted customs charge as you have to order them from a US site which you can find here. Apart from that, they are long lasting and definitely have no transfer; tried and tested.

3. NYX Lip Lingerie Matte Liquid Lipstick – Satin Ribbon and Honeymoon (£6.50)

14171934_10206744313997465_1670749049_n

The more affordable brand for liquid lipsticks; NYX! I love NYX products as they are so affordable but you really do get good quality out of them. The Lingerie range have an extensive range of nude colours which you can purchase from Boots. I went for Satin Ribbon which is a really pale/pink nude and Honeymoon which is a brown nude. These are more of a cream/mousse texture when applied to the lip. Despite the colours being gorgeous, they do not last as long without a top up and therefore can become patchy after a few hours. However this range from NYX provide amazing dupes of the Huda Beauty and Kylie liquid lipsticks!

COMPARISONS

HUDA BEAUTY // KYLIE COSMETICS // NYX

Each of these lipsticks have different sizes of applicators. Huda Beauty has a medium size applicator which is more pointed than the others and therefore you can achieve a precise line when applying to the lips (yes, I still need the lip pencil because I am useless at applying lipsticks). Kylie Cosmetics has a very small applicator which I feel should be slightly bigger but still works a charm. The NYX applicator is very long/thin and this allows an easy application when trying to get into the inner corners of the lips!

The colour difference between Trendsetter and Exposed is very small but I find Trendsetter slightly darker when applied and Exposed is more of a true nude.

14159244_10206744183114193_393741517_n

These are all the liquid lipsticks that I have mentioned. As you can see they are all slightly different from each other and can notice that the formula of the NYX products are different from the others.

Let me know if any of these are your favourite too and if there are any other nude liquid lipsticks that you like!

Thanks for reading and make sure to follow me on social media!

It’s a Jess Thing x

Leave a Reply

